The Potters House


Let’s you and I take a trip to the potters house and see what he’s up to. We can watch him create an original masterpiece. As we peered into the window, the Holy Spirit came over us and…

Jeremiah 18
1 This is the word that came to (Add your name here) from the LORD : 2 “Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.” 3 So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel. 4 But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him. 5 Then the word of the LORD came to me: 6 “(Add your name here), can I not do with you as this potter does?” declares the LORD. “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand (Add your name here).

I feel like Papa God put me on the potter’s wheel, left me spinning round and round on the wheel of training, wishing for it to stop and forgot all about me.

Did you know that when a pot is still in its clay form (you and me), it is moldable only by the Potter (Papa God). A pot can’t mold itself. After the clay has become hardened by drying out or kilned, it can’t be molded and changed. Its form is set and if the pot is unusable, it will be discarded.

When my Valley experience started, the Holy Spirit whispered “Job” to me (You know the guy in the Bible that lost his children, wealth, well almost everything; except his angry wife and his so called friends). I knew what that meant, because I read Job! I hoped with all my hope it wasn’t true. I tried to drown out what I knew Papa God was telling me and would ask several of my Christian friends, “You think God will do the Job thing to me?” Again and again my friends would encourage me by saying, I don’t think so. I tried so hard to believe them. Because frankly, going through the Job experience really frightened me.

What I finally had to face up to is no matter what we want, what others say or what we wish to believe…

That will not stop God from orchestrating His plan in our lives.

As I persevered through each trial, I wrestled to stay encouraged. This scripture gave me peace of mind, reminding me that Men of God wrestled the same as we do today.

Lamentations 3: 17
I have been deprived of peace;
I have forgotten what prosperity is.
18 So I say, “My splendor is gone
and all that I had hoped from the LORD.”
19 I remember my affliction and my wandering,
the bitterness and the gall.
20 I well remember them,
and my soul is downcast within me.

He sounds depressed, doesn’t he? My body has gone into overload mode these last 3 weeks. My mind wants to shut down to protect itself from the constant pressure and emotional pain and I suspect a little depression has snuck up on me as of lately.

It’s frustrating to feel the war between my mind and my spirit within myself. My mind say’s that I’m not showing spiritual maturity and faith because I’m not smiling and living in victory as if nothing is wrong. My spirit tells me otherwise. That God created our bodies to feel emotions, shock, even depression. That through the tears, the sadness I am still praising Papa God; and when I’m afraid, I praise Him afraid.

So which one is the correct thinking?

The latter one is. Acknowledging our bodies and its needs is not in any way living a spiritually defeated life. It’s actually being real and transparent and acknowledging we aren’t all that and we need Him and each other; which is the way it’s supposed to be. The Apostle Paul encourages us to bear one another’s burdens.

So now that Papa God has started His marvelous plan for our lives, what is the next step? What do we do? How do we respond?

Our response may usually be to complain, grumble and become angry when our lives are not moving with blessings that make us happy and smile. This behavior is a real detriment to our growth and understanding during our time of training.

Did I say training?

Yes, I did. The valley is our training ground. You’ve heard the reference “Valley” used before right? The Valley’s and Mountain tops! The Valley’s are the hard place to be and the Mountain tops are the victorious time after the Valley.

Papa Gods training is rarely the same, unless we didn’t get the lesson. We will not graduate (move onto the Mountain Top) and into a new lesson unless we have passed the present one.

Training consists of everything from learning to have faith in Him, which was a particularly fun lesson for me, to becoming aware of behaviors that are a detriment to us and those around us (these are a bear to learn, we don’t want to give up our selfish desires easily). The lessons are endless because we never stop growing and maturing.

Here is a scripture that will help us learn quicker, I must warn you though, I have found this to be a challenge (You remember, the grumbly thing I talked about up there?).

Lamentations 3: 26 it is good to wait quietly
for the salvation of the LORD.
27 It is good for a man to bear the yoke
while he is young.
28 Let him sit alone in silence,
for the LORD has laid it on him.
29 Let him bury his face in the dust—
there may yet be hope.

Sit in silence when you feel like you’re alone and troubled?
Yes!
Because when we sit in silence, humbled before Papa God, He has our full attention. He will speak to our hearts, revealing His Word, His encouragement, His guidance. Our complaining shuts out His voice and His peace. Instead of sitting quietly before Him, by grumbling we justify ourselves at His expense.

Then He asks us..

Job 40:8
“Would you discredit my justice? Would you condemn me to justify yourself?

This is a lucid question, isn’t it? When Papa gave me this verse, I grieved over my behavior. I condemned Papa by complaining about what He is doing? That’s a horrible thought! I’m so glad He is forgiving and patient with me. Which He so wonderfully tells us in Lamentations 3:21-25

21 Yet this I call to mind
and therefore I have hope:
22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.”
25 The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him,
to the one who seeks him;

So this week has been really really hard for me, and I don’t mind telling you that. How about you?

Share On Facebook

About Veronica Schultz aka The Soul Whisperer

Veronica Schultz is The Soul Whisperer. Her career spans over 25+ years as Entrepreneur, Reverend, Ministerial Counselor, Mentor, Life and Breakthrough Coach, Author, Teacher, Herbalist and Holistic Health Practitioner. Veronica’s journey of personal transformation started at the very early age of 4 with her first vision. This called her to discover her connection to the human spirit, the body’s dynamic energy system, and how it connects with our behavior, health, spiritual truths and intuitive insights. With this revelation, she stepped into her calling as The Soul Whisperer, a coach for very unique souls. These unique souls function well in life but often feel separate from others. They lean heavily towards holistic healing, love, intuition, warmth, the inner self, and spirit and how they all connect with the world around them. They are connectors and transformers – people with a vision. They have unique gifts and may not understand how to bring their value to the world. As The Soul Whisperer, she offers a fresh outlook on how to break free from the bonds of inner struggles that hinder this unique gifting. Her guidance in discovering their inner connection is invaluable. She knows how to make what seems complex look simple and doable. Countless times she has helped individuals connect with their identity. Identity is a vital part of one’s life because any spiritual disconnection can lead to the manifestation of physical illness. Her words of love, inspiration, and encouragement combined with her prayers and affirmations build a foundation of worth that will never be erased. She is a blessing and an angel. She has experienced emotional and spiritual burdens that only one can imagine and thus understands compassion. She is truly the SOUL Whisperer!
This entry was posted in Being Willing to Follow, Listening for that Still Small Voice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Potters House

  1. Don says:

    Good article…I was blessed…keep doing them!

    Don

  2. Karin says:

    “….when I’m afraid, I praise Him afraid.” Thank you for this article. It is so true that we need to be thankful in all circumstances, regardless of our emotions at the time. God is good.

  3. karla says:

    I love you sis….its crystal clear for me to see how the Lords works..without seeing it as punishment,I see it as building a strong Spiritual Walk…I just had a spiritual awakening…thanks!!!

  4. LaRon Carter says:

    Very transparent. This article ministers to me in ways that help me see the training ground differently. I sit in silence meditating on His presence. He has my full attention even when it’s hard for me.

    Stay focused. Stay confident and you will win.

  5. Kate MInter says:

    God is so awesome! This is what was preached bout at my church today (11-29-09)…God bless u!

Leave a Reply

