Who Do We Seek?


The day I began to learn about leaning on the Lord rather than man will be an unforgettable event. My husband was given the difficult task of speaking truth to me. We were upstairs in our room when this private moment between us began.

He said, “Sweetheart, you look to me to provide you with all the love you need, and if I died giving you everything I had, it still would not be enough.”

I was crushed. I was embarrassed and for the smallest moment, I felt very alone.

I wiped the tears rolling down my cheeks. I couldn’t speak; I couldn’t feel anything but pain and then Papa spoke to me saying, “I love you! Come to me for everything you need; love, strength, faith, healing, friendship, everything! Only I provide for you perfectly. People in your life will come and go, but not Me. I will never leave you. I Am your steady companion. I offer healing and through Me you can find freedom, joy and the peace to move and flow in a beautiful relationship with others.”

I didn’t understand this at first, but as time passed, I grew in my relationship with Him. Papa helped me learn what it means to lean on Him.

Jeremiah 17:5
“Cursed is the strong one who depends on mere humans, Who thinks he can make it on muscle alone and sets God aside as dead weight. He’s like a tumbleweed on the prairie, out of touch with the good earth. He lives rootless and aimless in a land where nothing grows.

Did your spirit hear what this verse is saying? When you lean on and listen to man, leaving God out of the equation, you are cursed, like a dying tree. Loss of identity, confusion, being blown from one belief to another, depression, wrong advice with trouble and loss, loneliness, heartache, anger to name a few and you can take it from here…

In my situation, I was raised to look to my family for my every need, every decision, including my direction from God. This is not how it’s supposed to be though, right? There is no third party in our relationship with Him. It’s Him and me! So… Papa began to woo me towards Him. It was a new concept, to walk by faith, to hear His voice (to learn to hear His voice, I should say)I had no idea what to do and found it extremely difficult to grasp the concept.

When I look back on days like that one, were moments are crushing, I can see Papa’s fingerprints planting and watering the seeds of life within me. As relationships came and left, as they always do, my relationship in the Lord has kept me unwavering and secure. For those who have abandoned me, left my life or just drifted off, I’ve been able to bear the loss in a healthy way.

The Lord cautions us to not to turn our mind, nor our heart from Him. When we do, we have a propensity to mislay our individuality, our identity in a relationship with another person. Consequently, when we loose that relationship, we feel they take a piece of us with them and we fight to get it back. This can impede us from moving forward. We dwell on them, we wish that they still loved us, we can even become obsessive. This brings devastation and emptiness.

And if that is not enough, this also gives the other person a power to control us, to make us miserable with their mind games.

After the Lord told me in verses 5 and 6 how naked and destitute I will be if I lean on man for my needs only the Lord can meet; He then tells me in verses 7 and 8 that I will be like a tree planted by water with my roots having grown deep, green and healthy; able to withstand a season of famine, if my identity is found in Him. You see, the Lord protects our identity and our individuality. Everything about us, even the number of hairs on our head is important to Him.

Jeremiah 17:7-9

7-8“But blessed is the man who trusts me, God, the woman who sticks with God. They’re like trees replanted in Eden, putting down roots near the rivers— Never a worry through the hottest of summers, never dropping a leaf, Serene and calm through droughts, bearing fresh fruit every season.

9-10“The heart is hopelessly dark and deceitful, a puzzle that no one can figure out. But I, God, search the heart and examine the mind. I get to the heart of the human. I get to the root of things. I treat them as they really are, not as they pretend to be.”

Man is frail and God says so! He also say’s that a mans heart is deceitful. This doesn’t necessarily mean wicked deceitful, but many times our actions are driven by our damaged past. How can we help and guide others in this condition without the help of the Holy Spirit?

It just isn’t possible for man to meet our deepest needs. Not even in marriage. This does not mean that having a relationship isn’t fulfilling or that it doesn’t bring joy. It certainly can! What it does mean is that if our identity is in Christ, if we seek Him first before all else, then what the relationship gives us is an added bonus. It allows us to live freely in that relationship, without unhealthy expectations.

My past has been full of abuse. I understand loss. I understand how it feels to be betrayed. I understand the pain, but I also understand the Lord’s provision and love given freely. The hope and healing He has given me and offers to you. With Him we can survive a time of loss, a time of hardship. We can endure with the Lords grace a time of transition, from one season to another.


Joshuaccinc@gmail.com

Share On Facebook

About Veronica Schultz aka The Soul Whisperer

Veronica Schultz is The Soul Whisperer. Her career spans over 25+ years as Entrepreneur, Reverend, Ministerial Counselor, Mentor, Life and Breakthrough Coach, Author, Teacher, Herbalist and Holistic Health Practitioner. Veronica’s journey of personal transformation started at the very early age of 4 with her first vision. This called her to discover her connection to the human spirit, the body’s dynamic energy system, and how it connects with our behavior, health, spiritual truths and intuitive insights. With this revelation, she stepped into her calling as The Soul Whisperer, a coach for very unique souls. These unique souls function well in life but often feel separate from others. They lean heavily towards holistic healing, love, intuition, warmth, the inner self, and spirit and how they all connect with the world around them. They are connectors and transformers – people with a vision. They have unique gifts and may not understand how to bring their value to the world. As The Soul Whisperer, she offers a fresh outlook on how to break free from the bonds of inner struggles that hinder this unique gifting. Her guidance in discovering their inner connection is invaluable. She knows how to make what seems complex look simple and doable. Countless times she has helped individuals connect with their identity. Identity is a vital part of one’s life because any spiritual disconnection can lead to the manifestation of physical illness. Her words of love, inspiration, and encouragement combined with her prayers and affirmations build a foundation of worth that will never be erased. She is a blessing and an angel. She has experienced emotional and spiritual burdens that only one can imagine and thus understands compassion. She is truly the SOUL Whisperer!
This entry was posted in Relationship with God, The Fingerprints of God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who Do We Seek?

  1. Hello Veronica,
    i so much enjoy writing a comment to glorify the Lord.
    I cant wait till we meet in glory…all praise and glory is the Worthy Lamb of God.
    maranatha,Jeannette

  2. Cursed is the strong one who depends on mere humans, Who thinks he can make it on muscle alone and sets God aside as dead weight. He’s like a tumbleweed on the prairie, out of touch with the good earth. He lives rootless and aimless in a land where nothing grows.
    Some times we overlook this verse and we look for what we want to hear from God right now it is so fresh it good to be reminded. Thanks

  3. Jeannette Webber says:

    I so much enjoyed your article on God being our most important provision for us because He has planned our lives from the foundation of the earth and came to save us from eternal damnation….accomplishing all this,does He Not deserve all we have to give.Not than we could ever measure up to His glory and why He loves us so much is unfathomable in this human fallen condition.Perhaps when we go to Him then we shall understand what it all means.But for now,He has blessed us,saved us,sealed us and all but delivered us to Himself.
    For that we await that marvelous day….Maranatha,Jeannette

    • veronicaschultz says:

      Hi Jeannette, Thanks for visiting and taking the time to share. I was blessed with your comment and have to say, I think we will be surprised when our eyes are truly opened to Papa’s goodness and all He has done. In the mean time, I am enjoying this exciting journey with Him and my Christian siblings, like you. Come back anytime and visit me, I love the company! xoxo

Leave a Reply

