Disenchanted


We’re hurting.

We’re lonely.

We seek Jesus wondering if He is the answer.

Just recently, someone I met at the store spoke kind words to me and it’s just what I needed to hear. So I decide, this Sunday I am going to look for a church.

As I got close to the doors, I heard the worship. The singer’s voice echoed beauty that only the Holy Spirit gives. My spirit leaped within me. Surely this is the place I am going to stay, I thought. This is the place I will find a friend; the place where people will care about me.

Greeted at the door, the pastor and his wife introduce themselves. Others greet me. The service starts and I sit with a smile. One Sunday turns into two. Conversations ensue, I share about me.

After reaching out with my desperate need, I noticed the casual greeting this week and none at all on future visits. I sit through a few more sermons, praying, asking Jesus for one simple thing; if they are here to share how much You love us, why do they not love me? I never returned.

Disenchanted!

I meet this neat lady at the store and she made a complimentary remark. We talked for a little bit and exchange numbers. I excitedly tell my husband later that night about my chance meeting. I was so excited to have met such a neat Christian lady and she seemed so knowledgeable.

We talk several times. We took her up on her invite to church, spent several occasions with her and her family on after church lunches. I had let down my guard with her as trust grew and began to share some of what I struggled with. Shortly after, I stopped dead in my tracks when I heard my name mentioned while passing some ladies in church, too involved in their conversation to notice me. I listened and overheard them, “Yeah, I heard she has such problems, did ya hear that… She really needs prayer.”

Disenchanted!

Hearts stay broken. Spirits injured. Lives left with the fingerprints of a bruise… rather than the fingerprints of love and healing from our wonderful heavenly Father.

These are but a few examples of the devastation caused by the poison we spew, injuring others.

Jesus asks, “Must my flock feed on what you have trampled and drink what you have muddied with your feet?” Ezekiel 34:19

Many in your tour group arrived at the crystal clear cold mountain stream before you and started drinking, quenching their thirst from the long hike. Your dry parched mouth began anticipating the fresh water quenching your thirst as you lean down to drink, when a member of the group inconsiderately runs thru the water stirring up the sediment – turning the water a mucky brown. This is what the Holy Spirit showed me in this verse. We destroy the goodness of Papa God, making a mockery of His Word when we disregard His Word and teachings and live self-centered lives. Oh how it hurts people.

God is calling us, wooing us back to our first love, Jesus! He can turn things around. Are you ready?

Do we love Jesus more than these?

Jesus crucified and Risen, Peter has carried his sadness for betraying Jesus and now they are about to have their third meeting with the One that Loves them.

From the shore, Jesus called out, “Friends, haven’t you any fish?” After an awesome provision given, they joined Him for breakfast. When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you truly love me more than these?” “Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my lambs. Take care of my sheep.” The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my sheep. John 21:17

Jesus asks you and me, “Do you love Me more than these?”

Well do you?

He’s asking us if we love Jesus more than anything else in this world. There are a million things we could love more than Him with ourselves being at the top of the list.
We are hurting and being preyed upon by wolves disguised in the garb of a good Christian in sheep clothing. Must we, His children, bring such damage to His house (the body of Christ, not a church building) as well?

If we have to watch our backs within the safe-house walls – where can we have a safe haven to rest our tender spirits and feel loved and genuinely cared for?

Will we make mistakes and hurt others, of course we will. How we choose to handle it though shows the love and character of a Great person. Yes, I have experienced situations like those in the beginning many times, as I’m sure you have; and it’s not that we’re looking for a perfect situation. Is it too much to ask that we own up to our mistakes and make amends? In the meantime, asking Papa to help change us, applying ourselves diligently to not make the same mistake again.

Who do you love?

Love God with all your heart, with all your understanding and with all your strength, and to love your neighbor as yourself is more important than all burnt offerings and sacrifices.” Mark 12:33

Joshuaccinc@gmail.com

Share On Facebook

About Veronica Schultz aka The Soul Whisperer

Veronica Schultz is The Soul Whisperer. Her career spans over 25+ years as Entrepreneur, Reverend, Ministerial Counselor, Mentor, Life and Breakthrough Coach, Author, Teacher, Herbalist and Holistic Health Practitioner. Veronica’s journey of personal transformation started at the very early age of 4 with her first vision. This called her to discover her connection to the human spirit, the body’s dynamic energy system, and how it connects with our behavior, health, spiritual truths and intuitive insights. With this revelation, she stepped into her calling as The Soul Whisperer, a coach for very unique souls. These unique souls function well in life but often feel separate from others. They lean heavily towards holistic healing, love, intuition, warmth, the inner self, and spirit and how they all connect with the world around them. They are connectors and transformers – people with a vision. They have unique gifts and may not understand how to bring their value to the world. As The Soul Whisperer, she offers a fresh outlook on how to break free from the bonds of inner struggles that hinder this unique gifting. Her guidance in discovering their inner connection is invaluable. She knows how to make what seems complex look simple and doable. Countless times she has helped individuals connect with their identity. Identity is a vital part of one’s life because any spiritual disconnection can lead to the manifestation of physical illness. Her words of love, inspiration, and encouragement combined with her prayers and affirmations build a foundation of worth that will never be erased. She is a blessing and an angel. She has experienced emotional and spiritual burdens that only one can imagine and thus understands compassion. She is truly the SOUL Whisperer!
This entry was posted in Being Willing to Follow, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Disenchanted

  1. Julie says:

    Very well done! You are gifted at telling the truth in a great way!
    Mary Joy I also appreciate you sharing, and sad for the pain—-I can relate in many ways and going to church is hard at times–although I admit I am far from perfect myself.
    Sharing a hardship is a sacred trust not to be cheapened by gossip…
    Church restrooms can be havens for gossip and half-truths. 😦 Motivations for sharing can be tricky—-
    God bless you both!

  2. HisTeddy says:

    Oh Vee I’m so sorry hun’ that those who are supposed to possess the most love and understanding have once again done the unthinkable and turned someone away with their words of judgment.

    I too am disenchanted at the moment. After years and years of not trusting the church I found a wonderful place to be and felt such a part of them that when I was forced to move away I was devastated and have never been the same since. I got to go back at the expense of my marriage but only for a short time and left again because it wasn’t working out where I was staying.

    Unfortunately, when I was moved away again, the phone calls have stopped. Its been a month since even one person called to say “How are you”, “We miss you”, “When are you coming back”, “Can we come give you a ride”. I don’t know, maybe its just an excuse not to go but after 43 years of this, I’m tired of it. 😦

  3. Gary G Abrams says:

    Until 1800 CAT I felt like this. When the evening service started, all anguish vanished! I need Gods presence like a junkie needs dope. Heb 12:2. This is truly awesome! Thank you Jesus!

  4. Mary Joy says:

    Vee,

    That is SO powerful!!! You are truly led by the Holy Spirit in your writing!!!! As a woman who struggles with disabilities, I have been through what you are talking about so many times! The hardest part is to remember that the church is a hospital for sinners. Meaning that those who are so cruel need his healing as well. Trust me it is SO hard to remember that. We pray and pray and pray for those doing the hurting. People think that they are not gossiping because they are repeating things with the–they sure need prayer….but it isn’t true….it is still gossip and it still hurts. I am learning how to handle it…how to confront it. How to deal with it. Thank you SO much for dealing with such a painful topic! You are an incredible writer and this is something that really needs to be dealt with. You are SO my sister in Jesus!!! 🙂

    Hope you Sunday morning is a wonderful blessing to your spirit and not a painful one.
    Love you sis!!!

Leave a Reply

