Rippling Affect


Isn’t it interesting to watch the ripples after  tossing a rock into a calm pond? It’s mesmerizing.

As I watched the ripples spread out, a small fish jumped from the disruption. As the rock sunk, the Holy Spirit showed me that I’m not just disrupting the water, I’m also disrupting the life in the water.

I wonder how invasive it is for the life of the pond and if maybe, the rock bonk’d a poor fish on its head as it descended.

Not all the ripples we see in our lives are bad, for the best ripples are those the Holy Spirits work creates, shedding the light of Papa God from one to another.

As we talk about those ripples from our wrong choices though, we then see that our life is much like that pond. A rock thrown in is disruptive, not just to the pond but to everything residing within it too.

Recently I made some choices that had that rippling effect, affecting those closest to me; like then, we get caught up in the moment, without giving much thought to how our actions will bring heartache to others.

As a simple example, when I was younger, mom gave me money to buy me and my sister some ice cream. Instead, I used the money for myself and then  I shared it with my friends… not my sister. Why I did it makes no sense to me now, but I will never forget the hurt in my sister’s eyes.

We allow the part of us that vies to our “feel good nature” to rule us instead of us ruling it. What a great analogy that is. It cautions us about the choices we make. Let’s see what Papa God says about it:

Like a city whose walls are broken down is a man who lacks self-control. Proverbs 25:28

Our walls are our measure of self-control, strength of will and strength of mind, If you don’t have any of these in play, you’re just like a man that has lost all dignity.

So let’s work together here and strengthen these walls of ours and see where it takes us…

Let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be alert and self-controlled. 1 Thessalonians 5:6

Be alert at all times is having a strong Wall (Strength of Mind and Self-Control) protecting us and others. There may be times that we desire to fall asleep, but when sleeping we usually do something we instantly regret. We are dead to the world-showing no light; and if we follow in these foot steps, there is no beginning or end. Time to put our foot down and keep walking forward, don’t you think?

Teach the older men to be temperate, worthy of respect, self-controlled, and sound in faith, in love and in endurance. Titus 2:2

Once we start a ripple, we can’t stop it no matter how hard we try. In this world everything revolves around everything and everyone and there is a reaction to every action.

I have really messed up and made the wrong choices. Who was there for me when I fell? My Papa God with arms full of grace and my family whom, bent over backwards to help me get back on track.

Let’s pick our choices wisely…

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rippling Affect

  1. veronicaschultz says:

    Hey Mary Joy, ((hugs)) Yes, very well said. I would love to take the credit, but can’t… my son wrote it (I’m so proud of him). I’ll pass on your wonderful comment. He’ll love to hear what you had to say!

  2. Amen, sister!!! Well said…and what a challenge for all of us. Sometimes it is so hard to remember that our choices affect so many people. God forgive me for those I have hurt and never knew about it in my life. Thank you so much for the reminder, Vee!

Leave a Reply

